What are your Dragons?

Everyone has them. Not all are seen. Not all are heard. They are there. They are standing guard protecting man’s greatest treasure. Happiness. Some days our Dragons are more visible, other days they are invisible to all but the brave soul waging war to seek out the treasure of happiness. While I struggle with my own Dragons, the ones that seem to win more often than not are the ones I have to watch my sweet son battle. As a mother, nothing is more heart-wrenching than sending him in to battle against his Invisible Dragons. I give him the weapons, support, encouragement and help that I can along the way but in the end it is a battle he must wage on his own; at 5. It is a battle most will never understand and one that he is constantly judged for. When the adversary is invisible, the judgements are harsher. None of us see the size, strength or determination of the foe. All we see are the times the knight falls down, drops his sword, loses his resolve. We don’t understand the quest he is on nor how vigilant he must be to protect himself from the Dragon while on his quest to find the treasure. Let us all be a little more understanding, patient, kind and loving as we see others struggling against their invisible Dragons.

May we all take a moment to ask ourselves, “What are my Dragons and how can I make progress in my quest to secure that treasure they are so skillfully guarding?”

If we are truly honest with ourselves, I’m sure the answers will surprise. My hope is that as I share some of our experiences, positive and negative, with my son’s Dragons that others will find support, strength and encouragement to wage battle.

2 comments on “What are your Dragons?

  1. kristi says:

    First of all I’d say you are a writer, and a very good mother which is probably the best thing you can be (to heck with knights for battling dragons)

  2. Bryn Wills says:

    This is so good; very well-written! I love the imagery! I look forward to reading your Blog in the future. 🙂

Leave a comment